When to call out your driver’s license

UTILITIES

In many states, the legal term for driving under the influence (DUI) is a misdemeanor.

But in Utah, the term is a felony.

That’s because the state’s “driving under the Influence” law includes a provision that allows a person to be convicted of a felony for not having a driver license.

That means a driver with an expired license, for example, can be prosecuted for a felony under Utah law if the person was driving with an outstanding traffic citation.

But what happens if you have a valid license and you’re caught driving with a DUI?

That’s the subject of a new piece in Polygon that explores the legal ramifications of not having one.

As we wrote last year, a DUI conviction carries with it significant consequences for a person’s ability to work and go to school.

It could also leave them without a job and leave them destitute, according to a study released this month by the University of Utah’s School of Public Policy.

That study found that Utahns with driving licenses with suspended or revoked licenses were more likely to be unemployed and more likely than those without licenses to be homeless, as well as more likely be unemployed in general.

Utah’s driving license law is the result of a 2005 bill sponsored by state Sen. Mike Lee (R-Utah) and Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R, Utah), which sought to address what the study’s authors describe as a lack of clarity around the term “driver’s license.”

In its original form, the law had only two words in it: “shall.”

But in 2010, the bill was amended to add the third word: “must.”

That’s why Utah drivers who have no valid driver’s licenses are able to receive a suspended license, the study found.

In fact, if a driver has a suspended driver’s licence, the state requires that person to register with the state, and the state also can revoke their license if they fail to meet certain requirements, according the study.

But as the law changed in 2013, the language changed from “shall” to “must” and the requirements for registering with the law dropped.

Now, a person must apply to the state to renew their driver’s permit, register with it, and pay a $40 fee.

The driver’s application process, which includes an affidavit from a law enforcement officer or other evidence, must be submitted to the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles.

That process can take anywhere from five days to two months.

Under the new law, a driver must provide a “certificate of compliance” from the state.

This certification is the document that the Utah DMV receives from the driver’s registration agency, which is the state agency that provides driver’s licensing information to the government.

But, according a person who was interviewed by the study, the agency’s certification process is “a bureaucratic nightmare,” with a lengthy, lengthy, bureaucratic process.

“You get a letter saying, ‘We can’t get a copy of the letter because the DMV doesn’t have a driver’s certificate,'” the person said.

In order to be eligible for a suspended or restricted driver’s driver’s record, the person would have to submit an affidavit attesting to the fact that the person has a valid driver license and no outstanding traffic citations, according, the Utah study.

That affidavit can be filed in person at the Utah Motor Vehicle Department’s Division of Criminal Justice Services or online.

If the person does not provide the affidavit, the driver could face up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.

That could mean losing a job, losing a home, or even being forced to leave the state if the driver is arrested for a second time, according an attorney who was retained by the Utah driver’s advocacy group, the Driver Alliance of Utah.

The Driver Alliance, which represents more than 2,500 drivers, is currently challenging the law in court, arguing that the law unfairly targets certain types of drivers.

“Drivers are disproportionately people of color and have lower incomes, and those who are most likely to have outstanding traffic tickets,” Utah DMV spokeswoman Jennifer Eberhardt told Polygon.

“There’s an unfair burden on people who are more likely, and they’re disproportionately people with more limited incomes and education.”

If the law is ultimately upheld by the court, the DMV will be required to notify the driver if they’re suspended or denied their license.

In the meantime, the new Utah law is a major step forward for the state in its fight against driving under its influence, according Eberhart.

“Utah is a leading state in lowering the bar for getting a driver driver’s records, and that’s the best thing we can do as an advocacy group,” she said.

“It is a step in the right direction.”

driver solution novitas solutions

Related Posts